school psychologist webinar

A School Psychologist’s Guide to Tourette Syndrome and Co-Occurring Conditions

Date: Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Time: 2:00-4:00 PST, 5:00-7:00 EST, 4:00-6:00 Central, 3:00-5:00 MST

School psychologists, join us for an informative live presentation! This webinar will provide an overview of Tourette Syndrome (TS). In addition, participants will learn how to recognize vocal and motor tics. Finally, TS-friendly interventions and accommodations that can help children succeed in school will be discussed.  

Key Take-Aways:

  1. Understanding the basics of Tourette Syndrome (TS) as a neurodevelopmental disorder (i.e., as the brain develops, the symptoms and the disorder develop) and its prevalence.
  2. Understand that it is common for people with Tourette Syndrome to be affected by another co-occurring condition such as Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), anxiety, and depression.
  3. Understand and further discuss how Comprehensive Behavioral Intervention for Tics (CBIT) is now recommended by National and international professional organizations as the first-line intervention for tics.
Patty Mendoza scaled

About Patty Mendoza

Patty Mendoza is the Lead School Psychologist in the Kings Canyon Unified School District (KCUSD). She holds a Master’s degree from California State University, Fresno.  Her experience as a School Psychologist has been extensive, serving grades from preschool to high school. Her experiences include a broad range of services, such as psychoeducational evaluations, consultations with teachers, parents, and administrators, counseling, crisis interventions, threat assessments, functional behavior assessments, behavior intervention plans, manifestation determinations, collaboration in 504 plans, collaboration in the implementation and monitoring of Positive Behavioral Interventions & Supports (PBIS), district-level Nonviolent Crisis Intervention (NCI), and district-level Safety Care trainings. In addition, she is a Comprehensive Behavioral Intervention for Tics (CBIT) practitioner. She participated in the Treating Tourette Together (TTT) project, which brought together people with Tourette Syndrome, their families, clinicians, researchers, and other stakeholders to set an agenda for the next generation of CBIT research.