Committee of Professional Nurses


The Tourette Association of America’s Committee of Professional Nurses is established to promote education and research that seeks to improve the medical community’s capacity to diagnose, treat, and manage the medical care of individuals with symptoms of Tic Disorders and Tourette Syndrome.

The profession of Nursing develops patient-centered care that is reliant on evidence-based practices through quality research. The Committee of Professional Nurses is established to create nursing best practices that will serve as a foundation for effective medical management of individuals with Tic Disorders and Tourette Syndrome. This committee will also focus on ways to improve the care of individuals in underserved areas and populations.

The Committee of Professional Nurses will be comprised of 8-12 Registered Nurses from diverse professional, geographical, racial, and ethnic backgrounds and experiences. Each member will commit to being engaged with the committee for a minimum of 2 years and actively participate in the development of effective education and research.

Below is a list of expectations for each committee member:

  • Current, active licensed Registered Nurse or Advanced Practice Registered Nurse in their State of residence (in good standing).
  • A minimum 2-year commitment to serve on the committee.
  • The committee will meet at least 9 times a year (approximately once a month) with a 2-month break over July and August and a 1-month break in December. A minimum of 7 meetings must be attended each year between January-December.
  • All members must attend the January meeting to establish the goals for the coming year.
  • We will encourage an in-person meeting during the TAA National Conferences. The 2021 Conference will be hosted virtually.
  • Participate in at least 1-subcommittee (subcommittees to be determined).
  • Actively engage in supporting the goals and mission of the committee.

Apply to join the Committee of Professional Nurses

Applications are due on Tuesday, June 1.